Grab & Go and Limited Meal Delivery at County Senior Centers

Montgomery County Finds Innovative Solutions to Serving Meals to Seniors During COVID-19.  The Montgomery County Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) and Montgomery County Recreation (MCR) continue their commitment to serve nutritious meals to seniors in need, even though the County’s Senior and Recreation Centers are closed.DHHS and MCR, along with the Jewish Council for the Aging, began making frozen meal packs available to seniors through the County’s Senior Nutrition Program on March 18. Partners and volunteers are operating “grab and go” locations and are making a limited number of home deliveries to the County’s senior population.

The frozen meal packs are delivered once per week and contain at least seven nutritionally balanced meals designed with seniors in mind. Meals are suitable for diabetics and contain one-third the Recommended Dietary Allowance for adults over age 60. Each seven-pack box will include seven different individual entrees, seven milk cartons and a variety of fruit cups, applesauce and bread products to meet dietary needs and comply with regulations.

To be eligible, most people must be 60 years of age or older. Spouses of participants or a person with a disability living with a participant, are also eligible.

Damascus Senior Center

Tony Edghill                   240-535-0732                 Anthony.edghill@montgomerycountymd.gov

 

Holiday Park Senior Center

Dolors Ustrell-Roig        240-460-2236                 Dolors.Ustrell@montgomerycountymd.gov

 

Long Branch Senior Center

Mary Pelz                        301-332-4451                 Mary.Pelz@montgomerycountymd.gov

 

Schweinhaut Senior Center

Karen Maxin                   240-805-3712                 Karen.maxin@montgomerycountymd.gov

 

North Potomac Senior Center

Sheila Hall                      202-450-8057                 Sheila.hall@montgomerycountymd.gov

 

Wheaton Senior Center

Alex Alcon                      202-760-1003                 Alejandro.alcon@montgomerycountymd.gov

 

White Oak Senior Center

TeAnna Abraham           240-678-5696                TeAnna.Abraham@montgomerycountymd.gov

 

All other 55+ Active Adult Programs

Cathy Richards               240-753-9280               Cathleen.Richards@montgomerycountymd.gov

 

Assistance in Spanish is available by contacting Dolors Ustrell-Roig at 240-460-2236.  Assistance in Chinese is available by contacting Qi (Adele ) Hu at 240-994-9097.